Validations performed before migration plan execution

Last published : Aug 21, 2026
Before a plan is executed, validations are performed in order to check the state of the clusters, service groups, and the resources monitoring the disk groups.
In some scenarios:
  • If the validation fails, the plan will be marked as an Invalid Plan.
  • Even though the plan is marked as Invalid, the plan can be executed after taking necessary corrective steps.
  • After taking the corrective steps, you must edit the plan before executing it.
Table: Validations performed lists the validations performed before a plan is executed and the state of the plan if the validation fails. It also lists when the plan will be marked as invalid or not and the necessary corrective steps.

Table: Validations performed

Object State Is the plan invalid? Will the plan remain invalid forever? Corrective Action
Source cluster Deleted Yes Yes Edit the plan, select any service group of an existing source cluster that needs to be migrated and execute the plan again.
Source cluster Faulted No No Resolve the issues in the source cluster. Ensure that the cluster is not in faulted state in InfoScale Operations Manager and execute the plan.
Target cluster Deleted Yes Yes Edit the plan, select an existing target cluster to which migration needs to be performed and execute the plan.
Target cluster Faulted No No Resolve the issues in the target cluster. Ensure that the cluster is not in faulted state in InfoScale Operations Manager and execute the plan.
Service group Deleted Yes Yes Edit the plan and reselect any existing service group in the source cluster that needs to be migrated and execute the plan.
Dependent service groups Deleted Yes No Add the dependent service group that was deleted and execute the plan.
Disk group resource Deleted Yes No Add the disk group resource that was deleted and execute the plan.
Disk group resource offline Offline No No Bring the disk group resource online and execute the plan.
Disk group Deleted Yes Yes Edit the plan so that the current state of the managed hosts is detected by the wizard. Save the plan and execute it.
Volume Deleted Yes Yes Edit the plan so that the current state of the managed hosts is detected by the wizard. Save the plan and execute it.