Refreshing the snapshot of volumes

Last published : Jun 19, 2026
When you refresh a snapshot of a volume, the snapshot volume is replaced with another point-in-time copy of the original volume.
When you refresh the snapshot of a volume, you can optionally create a space-optimized snapshot of the snapshot volume that you refresh. This action ensures proper data backup. The Management Server console lets you refresh the following types of volume snapshots:
  • Instant snapshots
  • Break-off mirror snapshots
You cannot perform this operation on a Windows host.
To perform this task, your user group must be assigned the Admin role on the host or the Server perspective. The permission on the host may be explicitly assigned or inherited from a parent Organization.
Note: Before refreshing a volume snapshot, you must unmount the file systems that are configured to use the selected volumes to prevent loss of data.
To refresh the snapshot of a volume
  1. In the Management Server console, go to the Server perspective and expand Manage in the left pane.
  2. Expand the Organization or Uncategorized Hosts to locate the host.
  3. Expand the host and select Volumes.
  4. Right-click on the required snapshot volume and select Snapshot>Refresh.
  5. In the Refresh snapshot wizard panel, specify the required information. Click Next.
  1. In the Refresh snapshots summary panel, verify the details that you have specified for refreshing the snapshot. Click Finish.
  2. In the Result panel, verify that the snapshot for the selected volume has been refreshed successfully.
More Information