Destroying disk groups
The Management Server console lets you destroy the disk group on a managed host and free the disks in that disk group for re-initialization.
You cannot destroy a disk group if the selected disk group is not a Storage Foundation disk group or if there is any mounted file system.
To perform this task, your user group must be assigned the Admin role on the host or the Server perspective. The permission on the host may be explicitly assigned or inherited from a parent Organization.
To destroy a disk group
-
In the Management Server console, go to the Server perspective and expand Manage in the left pane.
-
Expand the Organization or Uncategorized Hosts to locate the host.
-
Expand the host and then expand Disk Groups to locate the disk group to be destroyed.
-
Right-click on the selected disk group and select Destroy.
-
In the Destroy Disk Group wizard panel, confirm the disk group you want to destroy. Click OK.
-
In the Result panel, verify that the selected disk group has been destroyed successfully.
See About managing disks.
Related information