Moving disk groups

Last published : Jun 19, 2026
The Management Server console lets you move the disks within a disk group to another disk group. To avoid the source disk group from getting removed after the move operation, it should contain at least one disk.
You cannot move a disk group if the selected disk group is not a Storage Foundation disk group or if it is in a deported or disabled state. This operation is not supported on Windows host.
To perform this task, your user group must be assigned the Admin role on the host or the Server perspective. The permission on the host may be explicitly assigned or inherited from a parent Organization.
To move a disk group
  1. In the Management Server console, go to the Server perspective and expand Manage in the left pane.
  2. Expand the Organization or Uncategorized Hosts to locate and select the host.
  3. Expand the host and select Disk Groups.
  4. Right-click on the selected disk group and select Move.
  5. In the Move Disk Group wizard panel, confirm the disk group you want to move. Click OK.
  1. In the Result panel, verify that the selected disk group has been moved successfully.
More Information