Removing the mirrors of volumes

Last published : Jun 19, 2026
Volume mirrors are the copies of volumes that are retained in a disk. These disks are updated concurrently when the data in the original volume change. In certain circumstances, such as to free some disk space, you may want to remove the mirrors that you have configured for a volume. The Management Server console lets you add and remove the following types of mirrors:
  • A mirror that has been created for a volume.
  • A snapshot mirror which is configured to use as a break-off mirror for a volume.
To perform this task, your user group must be assigned the Admin role on the host or the Server perspective. The permission on the host may be explicitly assigned or inherited from a parent Organization.
To remove the mirrors of a volume
  1. In the Management Server console, go to the Server perspective and expand Manage in the left pane.
  2. Expand the Organization or Uncategorized Hosts to locate the host.
  3. Expand the host and select Volumes.
  4. Right-click on the required volume and select Mirror>Remove.
  5. In the Remove mirror wizard panel, specify the required information. Click Next.
  1. In the Remove mirror summary panel, verify the details that you have specified for removing the volume mirror. Click Finish.
  2. In the Result panel, verify that the selected mirrors have been removed successfully.
More Information