Set Disk Usage - Windows host panel options
Use this wizard panel to select one of the following options to mark the disk.
Related information
Table: Set Disk Usage - Windows host panel options
| Field | Description |
|---|---|
| Disk | Displays the name of the disk used. |
| Hot Relocation Mode | The default for Storage Foundation for Windows is to have automatic hot |
| relocation mode inactive. If an I/O error occurs in a redundant | |
| subdisk, the subdisk is not automatically relocated to another disk. Use the Set | |
| Disk Usage command to designate preferred disks as targets for hot relocation. | |
| Reserved for manual use | Disks reserved for manual use are not available in automatic selection |
| operations, including hot relocation. In an automatic selection operation, | |
| Storage Foundation for Windows chooses the storage where the | |
| operation occurs. Generally, the user is given a choice between allowing SFW | |
| to "Auto select disks" or "Manually select disks." Examples of commands that | |
| allow automatic selection are New Volume and Add Mirror. | |
| Reserving a disk for manual use lets you prevent any unwanted volumes | |
| or subdisks from being placed on that disk and gives you complete control | |
| over the disk. | |
| Hot relocation Usage | Select one of the following Hot Relocation targets\: |
| - Preferred Hot Relocation Target | |
| - Secondary Hot Relocation Target | |
| - Not used as a Hot Relocation Target | |
| Preferred Hot Relocation Target | If there is an I/O failure anywhere in the system, SFW first looks for space on |
| disks that have been marked as preferred hot-relocation targets for redundant | |
| subdisks. | |
| Secondary Hot Relocation Target | This option is the default for all disks. During the hot relocation operation, if there |
| are no disks selected as preferred targets or if there is no space available on | |
| those disks, InfoScale Operations Manager chooses space on disks marked as secondary targets. | |
| Not used as a Hot Relocation Target | This option does not allow any hot-relocated subdisks to be moved to the |
| selected disks. It differs from the "Reserved for manual use" option in that the | |
| disk remains available for other automatic selection operations. |
See Setting disk usage.