Freezing a system

Last published : Jul 06, 2026
In the Management Server console, you can freeze a system to prevent the service groups on it from failing over to another system. This task is particularly useful when you perform a system upgrade. A frozen system automatically unfreezes when Cluster Server is restarted.
To perform this task, your user group must be assigned the Admin or Operator role on the cluster or the Availability perspective. The permission on the cluster may be explicitly assigned or inherited from a parent Organization.
To freeze the system persistently, or to failover active service groups to another system, you must have administrator privilege.
To freeze a system
  1. In the Management Server console, go to the Availability perspective and selectManage in the left pane.
  2. Expand the Organization or Uncategorized Clusters to locate the cluster.
  3. Expand the cluster and then expand the Systems node to locate the system.
  4. Right-click on the system and select Freeze.
  5. In the Freeze System panel, do the following:
    • Select Freeze Persistently to ensure that the systems remain frozen unless explicitly unfrozen.
    • Select Evacuate service groups running on the System to fail over the active service groups on the systems to another system in the cluster.
  6. Click OK.
  7. In the Result panel, click OK.
More Information
Related information