Aborting online migration

Last published : Jul 06, 2026
If you find any inconsistencies in the copied data or for any other reason, you may choose to not enable the volume for encryption right away. In that case, you can abort the online migration to reinstate the volume to its original layout, but only if the Commit phase has not yet been initiated.
To abort online migration
  1. Right-click the top-level volume for which you have started online migration and click Encrypt Volume>Abort.
  2. On the Abort Volume dialog box, verify the name of the volume and clickOK.
This operation invokes the vxassist migrate command with the -o abort option and the relevant parameters.
  1. On the Abort Volume - Result panel, verify the status of the operation and click OK to close the dialog box.
The unencrypted volume layout in now restored to its original configuration.
In the volumes list, the Encrypted column displays the status as No.
Related information