Disabling service groups

Last published : Jul 06, 2026
In the Management Server console, you can disable the service groups to prevent them from being brought online. You can use this feature to temporarily prevent agents from monitoring service groups on a host while they undergo maintenance operations. You can disable a service group only if it is in an enabled state on a cluster host.
To perform this task, your user group must be assigned the Admin role on the service group or the Availability perspective. The permission on the service group may be explicitly assigned or inherited from a parent Organization or cluster.
Note: Before you perform this task, you need to open the cluster configuration if the configuration is not already open.
To disable service groups
  1. In the Management Server console, go to the Availability perspective and selectManage in the left pane.
  2. Expand the Organization or Uncategorized Clusters to locate the cluster.
  3. Expand the cluster and then the Service Groups node to locate the service group.
  4. Right-click on the service group and select Edit>Disable.
  5. In the Disable Service Group panel, do the following:
    • To disable a single service group, select the system to disable the service group on. Choose All Systems to disable the service group on all the systems.
    • Click OK.
  6. In the Result panel, click OK.
More Information