Starting synchronization of snapshots

Last published : Jul 06, 2026
The Management Server console lets you synchronize the contents of an instant snapshot with the contents of the original volume at the point in time the snapshot was taken. If you want to move a snapshot volume to another disk group for export to another computer for off-host processing, you must ensure that the snapshot volume has been completely synchronized.
Synchronization of the contents of a snapshot with its original volume is not possible for space-optimized snapshots.
If synchronization of a snapshot was not started when the snapshot was created, or only synchronization was paused, you can start synchronization.
To perform this task, your user group must be assigned the Admin role on the host or the Server perspective. The permission on the host may be explicitly assigned or inherited from a parent Organization.
To start synchronization
  1. In the Management Server console, go to the Server perspective and expand Manage in the left pane.
  2. Expand the Organization or Uncategorized Hosts to locate and select the host.
  3. Expand the host and select Volumes.
  4. Right-click on the required snapshot volume and select Snapshot>Start synchronization.
  5. In the Start synchronization wizard panel, confirm the snapshot you want to synchronize. Click OK.
  6. In the Result panel, verify that the selected snapshots synchronized successfully.
Related information