Evacuating disks

Last published : Jul 06, 2026
The Management Server console lets you evacuate a disk by moving the contents of the volumes from one disk to another. If a disk begins to fail, you can attempt to preserve the volumes on that disk by evacuating the disk.
You can evacuate a disk if you plan to remove the disk or use the disk elsewhere. The active volumes on the replacement disk are synchronized automatically.
You cannot recover a disk group if the selected disk group is not a Storage Foundation disk group or if it is in a deported or disabled state.
To perform this task, your user group must be assigned the Admin role on the host or the Server perspective. The permission on the host may be explicitly assigned or inherited from a parent Organization.
To evacuate a disk
  1. In the Management Server console, go to the Server perspective and expand Manage in the left pane.
  2. Expand the Organization or Uncategorized Hosts to locate and select the host.
  3. Expand the host, select Disk Groups, and click on** Disks**.
  4. Right-click on the selected disk and select Evacuate.
  5. In the Evacuate Disk wizard panel, select a disk selection method. If you choose to manually assign destination disks then select the required disk from the list. Click OK.
  1. In the Result panel, verify that the selected disk has been evacuated successfully. Click OK.