Deleting volumes

Last published : Jul 06, 2026
The Management Server console lets you remove a volume from your environment if you do not need it anymore. You can delete a volume from the disk groups in InfoScale Operations Manager. By removing a volume, you can reduce the usage of your disk space. This option also lets you remove a snapshot volume.
In a data center environment, a volume can have other dependencies also. When you delete a volume, the InfoScale Operations Manager console gives you the detailed information on various dependencies of the selected volume. This report lets you analyze the effects of the delete operation for a volume.
You cannot delete a volume if the volume has applications running on the file system or running on raw volumes or if the volume has data on it. Multiple volumes can be selected for this operation
To perform this task, your user group must be assigned the Admin role on the host or the Server perspective. The permission on the host may be explicitly assigned or inherited from a parent Organization.
To delete a volume
  1. In the Management Server console, go to the Server perspective and expand Manage in the left pane.
  2. Expand the Organization or Uncategorized Hosts to locate the host.
  3. Expand the host and then expand Volumes to locate the volume to be deleted.
  4. Right-click on the required volume and select Delete.
  5. In the Delete Volume wizard panel, specify the required information. Click OK.
  1. In the Result page, verify that the selected volumes have been deleted successfully.
More Information